We work with a focus on plant-based materials with a positive environmental footprint. Our launch collection uses high quality corkleather from a trusted manufacturer in Portugal. Cork is a renewable resource with outstanding material properties.

 

WATER RESISTANT

Cork is naturally waterproof which makes it a perfect material for bags.

STURDY

Cork is remarkably resistant to abrasion.

LIGHTWEIGHT

Cork is very light. Over half of its volume is air and it can float.

UNIQUE

Cork has a unique texture and a soft and pleasant touch.

SUSTAINABLE

Harvesting cork helps to preserve the natural ecosystem of cork oak forests.

 

burggrafburggraf-korkleder-hand-detail

 

PLANT-BASED MATERIAL WITH EUROPEAN ORIGIN

Cork is the bark of the cork oak, which is native to the western Mediterranean region. Portugal’s cork oak forests (Montados) are a unique ecosystem and habitat for a variety of animal and plant species.

 

WHY PATIENCE IS KEY WHEN IT COMES TO CORK HARVESTING

A cork oak has to reach an age of 20 to 25 years before it can be peeled for the first time. The cork harvest is a traditional craft in Portugal. The removal of the bark requires the experience and skilled hands of two men for each tree. The workers peel off the bark in six steps without harming the oak. Harvesting cork actually increases the tree‘s lifetime expectancy and therefore helps to preserve one of the richest ecosystems in the world. After a natural regeneration phase of about nine years, the tree can be harvested again for an average of 150 to 200 years. Equally surprising, the cork oak increases its ability to absorb CO2 by five times during the regeneration process.

 

HOW FLEXIBLE TEXTILES DERIVE FROM CORK

After the harvest, the cork planks are stacked in piles and remain exposed to sun, wind and rain for six months. During this time, the raw material matures and stabilises. The cork planks are then steamed to remove dirt and increase flexibility. Later on, the cork is pressed into blocks, sliced into thin sheets and bonded to a textile backing (cotton).

burggrafburggraf-cork-material-samples-4colours

OUR SAMPLE SERVICE

We offer a cork leather sample set containing all shades of the Cork Collection. It gives an impression of the soft cork surface and its cotton backing and is helpful when choosing your colour. Order here.

 

 

PETA-APPROVED VEGAN

Our collection is “PETA-Approved Vegan”. The certification guarantees that all components of our bags, including the adhesives we use, do not contain animal ingredients.

 

PETA-approved-vegan-LOGO-250x100

Unser Fokus liegt auf der Verarbeitung von pflanzenbasierten Materialien. Für unsere aktuelle Kollektion verwenden wir feinen Kork aus Portugal. Kork ist ein nachwachsender Rohstoff mit hervorragenden Materialeigenschaften und einzigartiger Haptik.

 

WASSERABWEISEND

Diese Eigenschaft macht ihn zu einem perfekten Material für Taschen.

WIDERSTANDSFÄHIG

Kork ist abriebfest und elastisch.

EXTREM LEICHT

Über die Hälfte des Korkvolumens ist Luft.

INDIVIDUELL

Kork hat eine einzigartige Maserung und einen angenehm weichen Griff.

NACHHALTIG

Die Korkgewinnung trägt zur Erhaltung der wertvollen Korkeichenwälder bei.

VEGAN

Kork ist ein rein pflanzliches Material.

 

burggrafburggraf-corkleather-material-navy

 

 

PFLANZLICHER ROHSTOFF AUS EUROPA

Kork ist die Borke der Korkeiche, die im westlichen Mittelmeerraum beheimatet ist. Portugals Korkeichen-Wälder (Montados) sind ein einzigartiges Ökosystem und Lebensraum einer Vielzahl von Tier- und Pflanzenarten.

 

WARUM BEI DER KORKERNTE VIEL GEDULD GEFRAGT IST

Eine Korkeiche muss zunächst 20 bis 25 Jahre alt werden, bis man ihre Borke zum ersten Mal abschälen kann. Die Korkernte ist in Portugal ein traditionsreiches Handwerk, das viel Erfahrung erfordert. Für jeden Baum benötigt man zwei spezialisierte Arbeiter, die die Korkschicht in sechs Schritten vorsichtig manuell vom Stamm lösen. Das regelmäßige Abschälen der Korkschicht erhöht die Lebenserwartung des Baumes und hilft damit auch das kostbare Ökosystem der Montados zu bewahren. Nach einer Regenerationsphase von bis zu 9 Jahren, kann der Baum erneut abgeerntet werden, durchschnittlich über einen Zeitraum von erstaunlichen 150 bis 200 Jahren. In der Ruhephase nach der Ernte ist die Korkeiche in der Lage bis zu fünfmal mehr CO2 zu binden.

 

WIE AUS KORK FLEXIBLE TEXTILIEN ENTSTEHEN

Nach der Ernte werden die Korkstücke im Freien gestapelt und für sechs Monate Sonne, Wind und Regen ausgesetzt. Während dieser Zeit reift der Kork und stabilisiert sich. Zur weiteren Verarbeitung wird er danach in heißem Wasser gedämpft, um Verschmutzungen zu entfernen und die Flexibilität des Rohmaterials zu erhöhen. Danach wird der Kork in Blöcke gepresst, in sehr feine Schichten geschnitten und auf ein textiles Trägermaterial aufgebracht. Aus diesem wunderbaren Material fertigen wir unsere Taschen und Accessoires.

 

burggrafburggraf-cork-material-samples-4colours

UNSER MUSTER-SERVICE

Unser Kork-Musterset enthält alle Farbtöne der Cork Collection. Es gibt einen Eindruck über die weiche Korkoberfläche und die baumwollene Rückseite des Materials und ist hilfreich bei der Farbauswahl. Hier bestellen.

 

 

WIR SIND VEGAN ZERTIFIZIERT

Unsere Kollektion trägt das „PETA-Approved Vegan“ Logo. Diese Zertifizierung garantiert, dass sämtliche Komponenten unserer Taschen, einschließlich der Klebstoffe und Garne mit denen wir arbeiten, keine tierischen Bestandteile enthalten.

 

PETA-approved-vegan-LOGO-250x100